Gouvernement du Québec


Restore text sizeIncrease text size

Jean-Marc Fournier

  • Minister responsible for Canadian Relations and the Canadian Francophonie
  • Government House Leader

Jean-Marc Fournier was born in Châteauguay on October 7, 1959. He obtained a Licentiate in Laws from the Université de Montréal in 1981 and a diploma from the École du Barreau in 1982. He worked as an attorney for several years in private law offices and obtained a master’s degree in public law from the Université de Montréal in 1991.

In 1994, he was elected for the first time as MNA for Châteauguay and was re-elected in the same riding in 1998, 2003 and 2007. During that time, he served as Minister of Municipal Affairs, Sports and Recreation, Minister of Education, Recreation and Sports, Minister of Revenue and Minister responsible for Parliamentary Reform.

He was appointed Minister of Justice and Minister responsible for the Reform of Democratic Institutions and Access to Information in August 2010. He was elected MNA for Saint-Laurent during the September 13, 2010 by-election.

He was re-elected MNA for Saint-Laurent during the September 4, 2012 general election and served as Leader of the Official Opposition from September 19, 2012 to December 8, 2013.

On April 7, 2014, he was re-elected for the third time as MNA for Saint-Laurent. In addition to serving as Government House Leader, he is the Minister responsible for Canadian Relations and the Canadian Francophonie.


Secrétariat aux affaires intergouvernementales

875, Grande Allée Est
Bureau 3.701
Québec (Québec)  G1R 4Y8
The following link opens in another window. www.saic.gouv.qc.ca

Phone: 418 646-5950
Fax: 418 528-0981

Chief of staff (SAIC) : Daria Hobeika

Cabinet du leader parlementaire
du gouvernemen
Édifice Pamphile-Le May
1035, rue des Parlementaires
1er étage, Bureau 1.39
Québec (Québec)  G1A 1A4

Phone: 418 643-3804
Fax: 418 643-2514

Chief of staff: Anik Montminy

Last update: June 9, 2018
Online as of: April 24, 2014

Accessibility   |   Privacy Policy   |   Copyrights

Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2018